Mermaids, Barmaids, and Hearing Aids

Everyone I know is releasing a book, a movie, or has an art show coming in August. The Polar Vortex is back here in Illinois, and I saw people wearing coats in July. Of course that’s not terribly unusual here Downtown. I’m hunkered down at the Downtown Office recuperating from our vacation. Then our subsequent vacation. One thing I discovered about myself is that I don’t like vacations. I don’t want a vacation. I’m releasing a book in August and all I wanted to do was work.

Bluegill Mermaid

Bluegill Mermaid

My friend David’s movie A Beautiful View of Nothing will be debuting August 2nd at the Mosaic Film festival. I was supposed to be in the movie, albeit in a very small role, but that turned out to be the week I had heart surgery. I love being in my friend’s movies, especially when I can hide a beer in one of my pockets.

I think I’m going to read at the release party of my friend Jesus’s book, Iced Cream, on August 9th.

The YMCA has closed its cardio room for two weeks to remodel, so Jenny and I actually ran. Yesterday we ran two miles. I was shocked I could do it. But I’ll be glad to get back on the easy bike.

I don’t really have anything to say about barmaids or hearing aids.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

